Be yourself…

Hey world, I’m back as I said I would be.

To sum up this post in two words right away, I’m going to go with, “Be yourself”.

Sounds super cliche, I know. But when you think about it, it may be harder than you think it is. A lot has gone down in my life in the past 12 hours. I don’t wish to elaborate on it just as yet. But what I’ve learned is that I need to be myself.

In the past year or so, I’ve slowly changed. I personally want to think that was for the better. I had someone by my side that was always pushing me to be the best that I could be in life, in school, in anything that I was doing or attempting. All that is great, but I lost myself as well.

I started to question my faith in God, I started to question a lot of things that were going on in the world or what I had learned before. I started to forget what I was taught growing up. And I started to become one of this world without thinking on my own just for the simple satisfaction of being accepted by as many as possible. In the past 3 years i’ve concluded that I’m a people pleaser and always have been. Why? Because I don’t like conflict and I want everything to be ok. But now I’ve come to a point where I need to just go back to being myself and not worrying about the judgement of others or acceptance of them either.

So as of today, I challenge those reading this post, to be themselves no matter what. Stand up for what you believe in. Be the way that God intended you to be. He’s always got a plan and no matter what, he’s not going to put you to anything that you can’t get through. So keep your faith in him and trust him to the fullest and I promise you that everything is going to be okay.

“For I know the plans I have for you” declared the Lord. “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

So basically, Be yourself and trust God.

faith

Till next time!

-Alexis

6 thoughts on “Be yourself…

  1. Yes you are a people pleaser but God has had you through all you have been through and will continue to be there always with open arms. I am very proud of you!

    Like

  2. This post really spoke to me & it’s definitely a lesson I’ve been learning throughout this past year. I feel like it’s so easy to lose who you are when trying to grow up & figure out what you want to do with your life. It wasn’t until recently I realized that you have to dig deep in yourself, remain strong in who you truly are & hold on to God. I can’t wait to read more, incredibly well written.

    Like

Leave a Reply

